“Superfoods:” Real or Fake?

Image result for superfood

Yesterday, in class, the idea of “superfoods” was brought up, and I was very surprised to hear that they are not a “real” thing. I always try to maintain a healthy diet, but as we all know, our busy schedules can get in the way of that. However, when I am on one of my big health kicks, I tend to gravitate to some of the foods I have heard to be “superfoods” without even questioning if they were really that beneficial to my body in the way that they are framed to be. After class I began to do more research, and the answers made more sense.

In an article titled “The Science Behind Superfoods: Are They Really Super?,” written by the EUFIC (European Food Information Council) they explain the true science behind superfoods. Many superfoods have been found to have certain health benefits; whether it is lowering blood pressure, decreasing the risk of heart disease, or inhibiting cancerous cells… the list goes on. These foods have been tested on in the lab, and have shown to promote healthy benefits, so what are we missing here? If any of you have ever taken labs for a certain class, you may have realized that the lab environment is very different than the “normal” environment in which we live in everyday; everything is clean and uncontaminated. In the labs in which these foods are tested, it is the same idea. Many of the labs that are testing these foods use a very high amount of nutrients, more than what the normal consumer would be eating when they eat that same food; the EUFIC states it as “these (nutrients) are usually not realistically attainable in the context of the normal diet.” In order to obtain all the benefits these superfooods are said to have, we would have to incorporate them in our diets very often, so often that it could lead to us consuming more of the nutrients that we are told to have less of. However, “Web MD” believes that eating superfoods along with a healthy diet will help you maintain your weight, help fight disease and prolong your life.

My conclusion is that superfoods are not necessarily fake, but we don’t truly know the answer and these foods should just be incorporated in our normal diets. As my dad always says “everything in moderation,” if you just eat a balanced diet then it is not difficult to maintain your health, and incorporating these foods may help, but it should not be something you should live by or pressure yourself to do.

Here are the top superfoods that “Web MD” believes everyone should incorporate in your diet:

  • beans
  • blueberries
  • broccoli
  • oats
  • oranges
  • pumpkins
  • salmon
  • soy
  • spinach
  • tea (green or black)
  • tomatoes
  • turkey
  • walnuts
  • yogurt

Link to the EUFIC article:EUFIC Link

Jane Gripshover

References:

.”‘Superfoods’ Everyone Needs: Blueberries, Tea, Salmon, & More.” WebMD. WebMD, 16 Feb. 2007. Web. 16 Sept. 2015.

“The Science behind Superfoods: Are They Really Super?” (EUFIC). N.p., Nov. 2012. Web. 16 Sept. 2015.

8 thoughts on ““Superfoods:” Real or Fake?

  1. I’m am also surprised to find out that not all superfoods are actually super. They might not have the health benefits people claim them to have. After reading an article about refined sugars and carbs I decided I wanted to go get healthier and cut down the amount of refined sugars and carbs I take in. Although I am not specifically looking for certain superfoods, I also unknowing tend to lean towards them. My opinion is that superfoods (super benefits or not) are much better than packaged junk food.

    Like

  2. I agree that the term “super foods” probably shouldn’t be used, however I do think that there is some sort of a hierarchy of foods and that foods being called “superfoods” sit very close to the top of this hierarchy simply because of the amount of nutrients they contain. Yes, I know we can’t absorb all of these nutrients, but it is better than having harmful additives or high fat contents.
    -Spencer Clark

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a consumer, I tend to believe what I see without really looking in to it. I’ll admit, I try to eat the foods that claim to be fat free and make you lose weight. It amazes me that people are so willing to believe things without really looking in to the science of it. I’m sure these foods are still healthier than other foods, but they probably aren’t these magical weight lose foods that companies make them out to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have a hard time believing that turkey could be a superfood. Maybe superfood originally meant foods that are beneficial to maintaining a healthy lifestyle as opposed to a special fruit or vegetable that can cure you almost instantly. Either way if it’s good for you than we should probably eat more of it anyway.

    Olivia Spencer

    Like

  5. When I am in the grocery store, I most defiantly go for the foods that I heard in the news about being better for your health. I especially gravitate towards the “super” foods like avocado, spinach, , kale, walnuts and almonds because I am a vegetarian and I also can not eat dairy, so I try to find natural foods with good amounts of protein, iron, and calcium. I am a sucker for convenience, but I am going to try and do more research on my foods, than just listening to what i hear on the television.

    Like

  6. The more you look at the “superfood” phenomenon, the more it seems like a gimmick. Most superfoods are fruits, vegetables, and lean protein — which are items you should be incorporating into your diet anyways. To me, it’s a little condescending, as if the people marketing these products think consumers won’t understand that fruits and veggies are healthy without the “SUPER” label added.

    Jessica Daniels

    Like

Leave a Reply

