“Decrease” in Religion makes more room for Debate

Growing up generally nonreligious, I find myself relying heavily on science to explain the how the universe and this world has become and developed. I believe that not only has science changed with society, but the inclusion of religion in science has as changed well. There is a theory in history that certain religions were created to control groups of people. With the proof that lies throughout history, I can’t help to think this may be true. For example, my great, great grandparents on both sides of my family were European immigrants, who relied heavily on Catholicism. However, my great grandparents on both sides grew up in the typical setting of the American countryside on farms, and as they started their families, they started to look more into Christianity. My grandparents on both sides started their families in the suburbs, and started attending more liberal Christian and Presbyterian churches, as it was common to do in the suburbs at the time. Thus, my parents grew up in religious families, but didn’t necessarily believe in those religions. Generations have passed with trying times, and even though I cannot ask my great grandparents why they changed their religion, I can guess that it was due to where they grew up in America, or because they married someone of a different religion. Regardless of their upbringings, my parents actually more so believe in the power of science. My mom is more spiritual and my dad believes in science as the creator of our earth. My parents never forced me or my brother into following any religion, but every so often they would take us to a Presbyterian church down the street to expose us to religion and prayer. When talking to people my age (in America), I have found that religion has trickled down to them in a similar, if not the same fashion.

I feel that with the broadening and (maybe even) “decrease” of religion over time, religion has become less included in everyday life and is now rarely included in science. This has created a rise in both religious and scientific fundamentalism. With the decrease in faith and religion, religion and science have become a central topic of debate:

“Many scientists are religious, and many religious leaders are scientists. The religion vs science debate involves a few extremists who strive to shout louder than everyone else does.

Before exploring the religion vs science debate, it is useful to explore the history behind the division, known as the Great Rift. For as long as humanity has believed in a creator, thinkers have tried to quantify and evaluate the truth behind religion, trying to prove or disprove a supernatural force (www.explorable.com/religion-vs-science).”

 

Madeleine Converse

2 thoughts on ““Decrease” in Religion makes more room for Debate

  1. My mom has always had faith where my dad has never really shared his beliefs with us. I know you can have faith and trust science, however my dad has always leaned more towards science. I myself was never very religious. Certain things that have happened in my life have helped me find my faith but also still believe in science aspect of things. Most teens now I have noticed either are very religious or don’t have faith at all.

    Haley Wright

    Like

  2. I think people are moving away from the stricter and more orthodox religions, like Catholicism, and moving towards more liberal sectors of it. I did not grow up in the most religious household, but I was surrounded by many catholic people. The strictness of the catholic church still seems like too much for me but at UC I have met people that are both into science and religion and they make religion seem not so scary and overbearing.

    Louise Hyneman

    Like

Leave a Reply

