Science or Faith?

Why I’m a Man of Science—and Faith by Francis S. Collins

The link above is an article from National Geographic about geneticist Francis S. Collins. It is a short article, but I think it explains and sums up clearly how he and many other scientists deal with their work and their faith.

We discussed the issues between science and faith in class, and many other people have written their blogs about it, also.  I think it is  an important issue because faith is such a big part of most people’s personal lives and community, and science is a big part of learning, education, and work. This is an important issue for me because I come from (like many people in the Cincinnati area) a big Catholic family. My parents sent me to Catholic school, from pre-k through high school. The first university I went to was Northern Kentucky University as an Anthropology major. In my biological anthropology and evolution classes, many of my class mates assumed I never had any formal education in evolution because of my catholic background. In reality, though, I has started learning about evolution in the 6th or 7th grade. The reason I bring this up is because people often think science and faith is black or white; like my education was either faith oriented or science oriented. In reality, though, most people are in the grey, the in between.

I find myself in the grey; filling in the scientific mysteries with my education in my religion.

 

creation_movie_poster

 

Gretchen Marie Semancik

4 thoughts on “Science or Faith?

  1. I come from a Hindu background and personally I find myself very religious. I really like how you said you put yourself in that grey area because that is where I feel like I am too. I strongly believe in science and I equally believe in my faith.

    Poonam Desai

    Like

  2. I know many people who are ‘in the grey’, they only believe in certain parts of their religion. This idea of a grey area is also debated over; are people truly following a religion if they don’t believe in “all” of it? (a “true” Catholic, Christian, etc.). I believe that it is hard to ignore science, especially when it provides proof. I wonder if extremely religious people deny science completely because they are in fear of being pegged a phony in their religion.

    Madeleine Converse

    Like

  3. I also grew up going to Catholic schools from kindergarten through high school and I agree that once people know you are a catholic they pretty much assume you have no sense of how the world really evolves. It is hard to match how both beliefs can fit together but there are differences and similarities and not everyone is going to agree with every aspect of this debate.
    Katie Schwettmann

    Like

  4. I think understanding that life is often about living in the grey is really important! Some topics are not going to be one or the other but rather a personal understanding of both.

    Olivia Turner

    Like

Leave a Reply

