College Campus Nutrition

A person’s health should be top priority. Unfortunately, many college students push their personal health to the back of their mind. Many students worry about gaining weight during their first year of college- the so called “freshman 15.” But an unexpectedly large number of students may be unable to afford nutritious food, putting their physical health, academic performance, and mental well-being at risk. The issue is that nutrition health is important to a student’s overall well-being and nutritious food isn’t as available or as cheap as fast food is on college campuses. Poor habits can affect mental health and be dangerous if actions aren’t taken. When students enter college, their diets often deteriorate. There are many factors responsible for these changes–stress, sedentary lifestyle, change in schedule due to study patterns, and changes in eating patterns in general. However, making smart nutritional choices can be very important for students’ optimal well-being and academic performance.

Commuters don’t have the convenience of being on campus at all times, therefore, they may skip meals in a rush to drive to campus or forget to pack a lunch and have to buy fast food on campus as their only option since it is widely available and affordable. Stress, fast food, and skipping meals all have negative effects on student’s bodies. Students should be aware of how they are treating their bodies and how healthy eating will better their bodies and even their GPA.

Many college students are on a budget due to the cost of a college education. It is much easier and more affordable to grab a hamburger and fries at McDonald’s on campus or to go to the dining hall and get an all you can eat meal. Since commuters don’t have the luxury of a meal plan, their only CHEAP option on campus is high calorie and high-fat fast food restaurants.

Overall, I think students should start taking control of their health and realize that it is absolutely necessary now or bad habits can form and have long term effects.

11 thoughts on “College Campus Nutrition

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your post here. I commuted my freshman year and I am fully aware of how easy it is to skip meals to get to class on time. And when we can’t take it anymore we just stop at somewhere quick and easy like mcdonalds. To go along with your first point your so accurate. School comes before health many times, and we would rather buy books than go to subway which is more expensive than mcondonalds. I think you made your post extremely relateable, good job!

    Like

  2. I completely agree that students need to be more conscious of their health and eating habits. The habits students learn now will last them the rest of their lives. I feel the best way for students to eat healthy and not spend as much money on food is to visit a local farmers market, and for UC students Findlay Market. These markets offer a wide variety of produce and healthier meats that are sometimes cheaper than Kroger or any other grocery store.

    Like

  3. I agree with this post, since I have come to college my eating habits have changed drastically. Forgetting to eat due to a class or studying, school becomes more important that eating healthy many times and that is something that I know I need to work on and I’m sure many other collage students feel the same way too.

    Like

  4. As a commuter, I can definitely relate to these problems. I often end up skipping breakfast just to beat traffic and make it to class on time and when I’m on campus there aren’t many options for food without a meal plan, let alone healthy food (Subway got old real fast). That being said, one of my goals for this semester has been to “take control of my health” as you said, and pack more nutritious lunches, get better sleep, and make time to go to the rec center and work out.

    Like

  5. The consumption of fast food have long term effects. Perhaps the college students can buy cooking ingredients and have meals together as such will save money as the ingredients are far cheaper when bought together.

    Like

  6. I couldn’t agree more with your post. At least in my experiences, just telling myself to eat healthier usually lasts about one day. After reading your post, I was interested in surfing some articles to see if there is anything truly being done to improve the health of college students. I got the sense that it is grabbing the attention of most schools and they are beginning to offer more exercise programs, and healthier meal options, but the cheap, unhealthy options still exist. One article that made some reasonable points was done by Rutgers. In it they give eating, and exercising tips that seemed to be fairly reasonable, and mostly cheap opportunities that we should try to implement in our lives in order to improve our overall health.

    Here it is: http://www.healthservices.camden.rutgers.edu/topics_wellness

    Like

  7. I completely agree that college students should be more careful about their diet. From my own experience, it has definitely been put on the backburner-other things have taken priority like school, work, and sleep. I’m really grateful that the rec center provides free workout classes but I wish I’d take advantage of it more often. Maybe it should be required. The reality is that our physical health affects our intellectual health so much. If we could only see the degree to which it affects us, then we might implement behavior change.

    Like

  8. It seems there is a dilemma between nutrition and GPA. My college life in nutrition is going like this. In the morning I am usually in hurry to get to the class. In lunch time I am like whatever I will eat at any place close to where I am. In dinner I am so tired to think about it. I know it is not good for health but hope it is only temporal. And I am stuck with unlimited meal plan anyways.

    Like

  9. Another person completely agreeing! I am a commuter, and between work and school, I almost never have time to each 3 square meals a day. It go to the point now to where I can’t eat anymore subway on campus (I’m a vegetarian so there aren’t many options on campus). I have felt the pain of getting home after going straight from morning classes to 8 hour work day completely worn out and hungry. It leaves little will to study and/or do homework. I see first hand the connection between personal health and GPA.

    Like

Leave a Reply

