Who Should We Believe?

This week we focused talking on how people and our surroundings have an influence on our health. Whether they be a fake doctor on a television commercial or a real doctor telling you information in person, we believe them no matter what. Why? Because we see with our eyes that they are wearing a lab coat or because they have a stethoscope around their neck. Like we talked about in class, “whoever controls the media, controls us.” This really spoke to me at a personal level.

I’m not sure why, but when a commercial comes on the TV for a drug, I begin to listen and think of my health. I’m not sure why I do this, but I immediately pay attention to see if I needed to ask my doctor about this prescription. Even if it’s for a senior citizen, I still see myself falling in their trap and questioning my health. How did we get to this place in society where a single commercial will tell us if we’re sick. They elaborate on a specific topic for no more than two minutes but almost immediately have us hooked and have us question our daily habits.

I feel like this can also be related to agency & global health. When we look at what agency means and how it influences us, it terms to looking at an individual level. We see these commercials on TV and on billboards and immediately think, ‘Do I need that drug? Should I talk to my doctor about that?’ It also brings up the idea of how we can better ourselves and improve our health on an individual level. Maybe instead of watching those commercials on television, we should be out running or walking to get exercise and making ourselves healthier individually. Maybe we need to try to not let television tell us how to live our lives but instead create our own plan to be healthy.

-Becca Roberts

7 thoughts on “Who Should We Believe?

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with you. These commercials can be misleading. People might just switch to drugs to make them feel less hungry than to follow their own health plan like you said. They can start having smaller potions of meals and maybe excersise without pumping poison into our body. We don’t think far and we just take whatever we feel is good for that particular time. Just imagine the stress we are putting our livers under. I personally feel that it’s all these unnecessary medicines that had made us unhealthy and risk prone in the long run. Our grandparents were much healthier in our time frame… They didn’t have so many medicalized conditions and unwanted drugs. I really enjoyed reading your post!
    A M Ovini Amarasinghe

    Like

  2. I love the last part where you mention how we should focus on excersize to be healthy rather than all of these commercial drugs. I think if people were to exercise more and eat healthier, they would prevent some of these illnesses and it would be less expensive than buying a drug to fix it after the fact. I think excersize can help with a multitude of illnesses, physical and mental!

    Like

  3. I know I haven’t thought about taking any medications for senior citizens based off of a commercial I’ve seen, but I have certainly talked to my doctor about medications I’ve thought have applied to me only to realize they didn’t. Brands like Epiduo are targeted at teenagers with acne and I feel like a lot of teenagers feel like they need this product because of how happy the actors are in the commercial with clean skin. Even Proactiv, which is not an actual prescribed brand, seems to be taking advantage of young people with spokespeople like Adam Levine and Katy Perry. I agree that we should determine our own course of action on how to be healthy. Thanks for the post!

    -Gabriella Feltman

    Like

  4. I can definitely relate to the part about seeing a person in a lab coat with a stethoscope and paying attention to what they’re saying. Whether they’re a real doctor or not, we pay attention and sometimes find ourselves believing what they say or questioning our own health subconsciously. This also reminds me of the commercial we watched in class with the guy who was rowing out on a lake and advocating for a product and he wasn’t even a real medical doctor. The quote “whoever controls the media, controls us” definitely has some degree of truth to it.

    Katie Clontz

    Like

  5. This week we focused talking on how people and our surroundings have an influence on our health. Whether they be a fake doctor on a television commercial or a real doctor telling you information in person, we believe them no matter what. Why? Because we see with our eyes that they are wearing a lab coat or because they have a stethoscope around their neck. Like we talked about in class, “whoever controls the media, controls us.” This really spoke to me at a personal level.

    I’m not sure why, but when a commercial comes on the TV for a drug, I begin to listen and think of my health. I’m not sure why I do this, but I immediately pay attention to see if I needed to ask my doctor about this prescription. Even if it’s for a senior citizen, I still see myself falling in their trap and questioning my health. How did we get to this place in society where a single commercial will tell us if we’re sick. They elaborate on a specific topic for no more than two minutes but almost immediately have us hooked and have us question our daily habits.

    I feel like this can also be related to agency & global health. When we look at what agency means and how it influences us, it terms to looking at an individual level. We see these commercials on TV and on billboards and immediately think, ‘Do I need that drug? Should I talk to my doctor about that?’ It also brings up the idea of how we can better ourselves and improve our health on an individual level. Maybe instead of watching those commercials on television, we should be out running or walking to get exercise and making ourselves healthier individually. Maybe we need to try to not let television tell us how to live our lives but instead create our own plan to be healthy.

    Like

    • lol sorry. I was reading your bloging to my M.S word. People can receive a lot albit too much information ranging from personal health to other non personal factors and these have a large impact in our lives. This is a bad habit on our part as some information is intended for sale of certain product.

      Like

Leave a Reply

