AIDS OMG

One thing we talked about in class was the origin of HIV and AIDS. In our notes it said that the press claimed that HIV/AIDS came from the United States from Haiti, also known as little Africa. I was curious about this topic after class so I decided to do my own research. I came across the website http://www.avert.org/professionals/history-hiv-aids/origin.

I found out there are two types of HIV, known as HIV-1 and HIV-2, which have different origins and causes. HIV-1 is closely related to a strain of SIV found in chimpanzees, and HIV-2 is closely related to a strain of SIV found in sooty mangabeys. SIV (simian immunodeficiency virus) attacks the immune systems of monkeys and apes. I thought this was really interesting and never knew this even in my years as a nursing student. My main question I wanted answered was How did HIV cross from animal to human. The main theory is the hunter theory. Hunters would kill these chimpanzees and eat them or maybe their blood would get into their wounds. “There are four main groups of HIV strains (M, N O and P), each with a slightly different genetic make-up. This supports the hunter theory because every time SIV passed from a chimpanzee to a human, it would have developed in a slightly different way within the human body, and produced a slightly different strain. This explains why there is more than one strain of HIV-1”. I had no idea this was a thing either. Reading on it said the HIV/AIDS was early recorded in Africa but they do not know if it started there. Haiti’s significance to all of this is “In the 1960s, the ‘B’ subtype of HIV-1 (a subtype of strain M) had made its way to Haiti. At this time, many Haitian professionals who were working in the colonial Democratic Republic of Congo during the 1960s returned to Haiti.7 Initially, they were blamed for being responsible for the HIV epidemic, and suffered severe racism, stigma and discrimination as a result”.

Now since I did not write anything controversial in here i’ll add an experience I had with HIV/AIDS. No I do not have HIV or AIDS. But I was going to the doctors to get my annual check up and getting tested for anything they tested a college student for. He asked if I should be checked for HIV/AIDS. I said I don’t know? What kind of question is that. Then he then asked me if I have had sex with any black guys or If I was having gay sex. I said no to both of the questions and then he told me I was fine. That is the end of the story.

 

Cindy G.

2 thoughts on “AIDS OMG

  1. Really? Your doctor thinks sex with black guys and gay sex is the only two things that mean you should be tested for HIV? I would be looking for a better doctor. He didn’t ask about recreational drug use, or unprotected sex in general…he just asked about old, racist, sexist, and frankly ignorant stereotypes, especially given that lesbian sex actually has a lower incidence of transmitting HIV than male/female sex.
    -Matt McDaniel

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m appalled about your doctor asking you that. I have had a similar experience when I first began going to the gynecologist. The nurse said that since I wasn’t 18, I was 17 then I didn’t need to get tested. When I came back a year later then I should worry about getting tested. The virus doesn’t discriminate of course some are at higher risk than others but excluding those that aren’t considered “high risk” may make them more at risk in the long run.

    -Skylar Barkley-

    Like

Leave a Reply

