Are We Getting Enough Sleep

As a college student we all know we aren’t getting enough sleep.  But how bad is it? Is it making an impact on our health.  I wanted to cover a topic that we all can relate to and benefit from.  Sometimes it is self inflicted, other times it seems like we can do nothing about it because of priorities.  On average I get about 6 and a half hours of sleep, with football at 7am every morning I wake up at 6 and try to go to bed before midnight.  But still it often seems like it takes a while even though we seem to be exhausted throughout the day.  Studies say young adults our age are supposed to get 7-9 hours of sleep a night.  But many of my friends say they go to bed at about 2 and wake up at 9.  Occasionally school and other things will keep us up later than midnight, but after reading articles we are doing more harm than good staying up this late.  ad 3

Sometimes we think we get more accomplished burning the midnight oil, but during the important hours of the day we seem to be more zombified.  Many of us result to energy drinks, caffeine and other things to help us be sharp during the day.  Yet, these things are bad for our health all around.  Naturally after a full night of sleep you feel great, this is your body thanking you.  I know that at this time in our lives sleep isn’t priority one, but my quest for everyone is to put a larger emphasis on their sleep.  We owe it to ourselves to sleep more every night.  I recently tried to get 7-8 hours of instead of 6-7 and I have noticed how much more efficient I am during the day.  One other major thing that I have noticed is that I am much more of a happy person to be around.  People around me have noticed it too.  One other thing to mention is when alcohol is consumed typically you do not get a good night of sleep so that is why “hangover’s” are even worse than usual.  Sleep is naturally neglected at this age, but if you are making your emphasis to get more sleep then things will progress for you academically, socially and health wise.  Good luck to everyone!

https://sleepfoundation.org/how-sleep-works/how-much-sleep-do-we-really-need

https://sleepfoundation.org/media-center/press-release/national-sleep-foundation-recommends-new-sleep-times

 

6 thoughts on “Are We Getting Enough Sleep

  1. I definitely agree with your post. I’m such a sleep lover, that if I don’t get 8-10 hours a night, I’ll feel terrible the whole next day. It seems in college, everyone is so busy with their different organizations and trying to get their lives together, that we forget whats\’s important-our mental health. We should all try to get the maximum sleep a night that we can obtain- because in the end we will feel so much better about tackling the next day.
    -Jocelyn Scott

    Like

  2. I most certainly do not average between 7-9 hours of sleep per night, but I do try and go to bed before midnight most nights and wake up at about 7:30 every morning. From personally, I found that having a routine really helps with controlling my sleep patterns. I seem to function better/more effectively when I have some sort of routine, and without that routine my whole cycle of sleeping/eating/etc. is skewed. I think the visual you chose to go along with this piece is fitting, except for the fact that is is in reference to animal extinction. Good post, I definitely agree we all need to try and get more sleep, and it sounds like an awesome plan to me.

    – Drew Sliger

    Like

  3. Like most of the prior comments, I totally agree. Last semester I was staying up to about 2-3 most nights and waking up at 8 or so to get ready for class. Not only did my academics suffer from my sleep but also some of my social interactions. This semester I always try to go to bed before midnight on school nights. On the weekends, it’s another story. If someone wants to make a somewhat easy change to their lifestyle I think that making sure you go to bed earlier can help immensely!

    -Mike Montague

    Like

  4. I’m pretty sure on a normal night i get 5-6 hours of sleep, then have to take a 2 hour nap in the middle of the day. I am definitely a person who says the common phrase, there are not enough hours in the day. I try to live by the whole, 8 hours of rest, 8 hours of play, and 8 hours of work but it seems now a days that is very unrealistic. I like your post a lot, I feel it touches with everyone and touches home.

    -Matt Wurzelbacher

    Like

  5. On average I get about 4-5 hours a sleep on school nights and 8-9 on weekends. Personally I see little difference on my performance in amount of sleep but instead of time I wake up. I feel like the earlier I wake up the more productive I am. And the later I sleep in the less productive I am cause I feel like I slept my day away.

    Danny Wells

    Like

Leave a Reply

