Is Organic Really Better (Emma Kidder)

10-Benefits-of-Eating-Organic-Food

 

In class organic food has been mentioned several times. Is it better for you? Can it be accomplished on a large scale?I hate hearing vegetarians and vegans always talking about organic food without knowing any facts. So I did some research. For me, this mainly came up after we watched the clip about fox news trying to cover up the story about the milk with the “bad stuff” in it. Advocates say organic food is safer, “possibly” more nutritious, and often better tasting. Its also “kinder to animals.” Organic food sales have raised 20% since 1990 and there are up to 2.35 million acres in 48 states that produce organic food. But, lets look at the facts, shall we?

Does any one know what even qualifies food to be organic? Probably not. To meet the standards to be called organic by the U.S Department of Agriculture the crops must be produced without conventional pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, sewage sludge, bioengineering or inonizing radiation. Organic animals must have access to the outdoors, including a pasture to graze in. Sounds good right? But does that make it safer? Not necessarily, the chances of natural pesticides is about the same and could make you even sicker due to the plants natural chemical defenses. And of course, what about the manure fertilizer its grown in? That can affect the plants you eat to, once again making you sick. So, there goes that argument.There is little to no proof that organic food is better for you according to the doctor in the WebMD article attached.

http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/organic-food-better?page=4

Also, many people want organic food but do they have any idea how to mass produce it? Organic food takes time so there’s no way organic farmers and providers can keep up with the demand. That’s why people turn to brands like tyson, it might be processed, but its fast.

The rest of my problems with organic food is just how expensive it is. Of course, if you’re willing to spend that much money on a supposedly “healthier diet” go right ahead. Just remember when you’re spending all that money on that organic food that there’s no proof its better for you. There are cheaper ways to eat healthy, you just have to invest time and do some research. Just picking something that says organic is almost lazy in my opinion. Of course, I would never judge your diet or what you eat, this is my opinion backed up by facts.

Emma Kidder

13 thoughts on “Is Organic Really Better (Emma Kidder)

  1. Picking organic might seem lazy to you but is there anything lazier than not trying at all? Check out the nitrogen cycle. Bird guano and manure are the best ways to rehabilitate soil naturally, without chemical fertilizers. Unnatural fertilizers also have been proven to cause vast problems including massive scale water pollution from run off that destroys our aquatic ecosystems and food supplies. The fertilizer industry has proven over and over again to not be a sustainable solution to the over production of agriculture we do in America, the majority of which is just used to feed live stock, that we are eating way too much of. Maybe eating organic isn’t always about the personal health of an individual, but instead making sure that our eating habits are sustainable for our environment.

    Liked by 2 people

    • My problem is the vegans and vegetarians who just want to eat “organic” because they think it’s “healthier.”I’m pretty sure they don’t know all the facts. I think they’re lazy because I don’t think they do research on it. -Emma kIdder

      Like

  2. I am not going to lie whenever I buy something organic I think I am so healthy even though Its like a cookie. It makes me feel better knowing that it says organic on it. I know its expensive but I guess I am just the stupid person they brand too. I wish you listed what alternatives there were because I would love to know. Overall I liked your article and you made some really good points.

    Cindy gARNER

    Like

    • That’s the thing, there really aren’t alternatives. You either get “organic” or don’t. My point is not to make any one feel bad, its just to raise some points

      Like

  3. I really agreed with your post. I find myself seeing “organic” in the grocery store and immediately buy it because in my mind, organic means healthy. So when I eat the organic food I instantly feel better about myself because it said one word.

    Becca Roberts

    Like

  4. Organic food might not be healthier but most the time organic food is local or a small grown farmer because like you said it is hard to produce large amount of it. But buying organic or locally helps promote local business and helps the environment. You don’t use all the pesticides and your probably not driving a truck across the country full of vegetable. Saving on carbon and allowing for your produce to last longer since its not sitting in a truck for days. Plus I don’t thinks its terrible for people to feel healthier by buying organic food, maybe that will affect more of their day to day choices and they end up being healthier.

    Like

  5. Organic has simply become a favorite brand. Seems like Angus Brand beef and all the local breweries have done the same. We are buying more into the image of organic food than the taste or health benefits. Conceptually, organic makes sense, since as Josh says there is no restriction on the use of a new chemical. From a brand perspective organics, like organic Gummi Bears make sense as well. But from a health perspective they make no difference. Fresh fruit is a much better alternative to organic Gummi Bears.

    Mike Cappel

    Like

  6. I agree with your post, I buy organic foods when I have a little bit more money to spend or when I want to feel healthier. But, honestly, I never do feel physically better after eating organic. Mentally, I feel like I do the right thing when I buy organic so I guess that makes me “healthier”? Right?

    Andrew Traicoff

    Like

  7. I agree and disagree with some of the things you said. An organic certification is definitely hard to achieve, and even though a food might not SAY it is organic, it’s possible that it’s being grown using the same standards. As you also mentioned, there’s no real proof that organic means better. For most people, I think the idea of “clean, organic” food has a sort of placebo affect on them. Personally, I recognize this, but I choose to buy locally raised, organic vegetables and meats when I can. For me, the environmental impacts of using unnatural fertilizers are a big turn-off. Likewise, I feel better knowing my meat was raised healthily. For me, these are personal preferences based off of my unique experiences as a kid growing up in the hub of a huge corn producing area. I can see the benefits of GMOs and non-organic practices, but they’re ultimately unsustainable.

    Kaylin Brodzki

    Like

    • I agree, i haven’t done that much research on it yet, just enough to prove that there’s no difference in health between processed food and organic food. -Emma Kidder

      Like

Leave a Reply

