Are deniers of climate change scientifically illiterate or careless?

imageWhen we were talking about climate change in class I was puzzled as to why people still deny climate change after all of the evidence and obvious effects of climate change, and then it occurred to me, that maybe people are in denial of climate change because it is inconvenient. Maybe they don’t want to believe that their lifestyle is a cause of climate change and they they are responsible for making changes to mitigate climate change. It is inconvenient for us to ride a bike or even take a bus instead of a car. It is inconvenient to reduce meat consumption. It is inconvenient to avoid buying plastic and making sure to recycle everything. So I am thinking one of the reasons people deny it is because they don’t want to have to care. They don’t want to change, and they don’t want to hear people tell them that they need to. But the truth is we all could make lifestyle changes that could reduce our ecological footprint, myself included. I know I could take more steps to reduce my impact, including driving less. It is important for all humans to work together to decrease our impact and acknowledge that it is necessary. I do think in some cases people don’t believe in climate change because they are uneducated, but I really do think a lot of it is people being careless and deliberately choosing to not believe the facts because it is too inconvenient for them. -Madeline Howard

http://climate.nasa.gov/evidence/

 

5 thoughts on “Are deniers of climate change scientifically illiterate or careless?

  1. I’d say that it’s the rich oil companies trying to suppress information because it’s damning for them if we fully explore alternate energy. With them paying for politicians to deny climate change, the politicians then exploit people to follow their lead.

    Like

  2. I agree with you that people need to accept the fact that climate change is real. I like how you said that people may be denying it because of the affect that humans’ lifestyles have on the environment and how they don’t want that responsibility on their shoulders.
    – Kellie Behrle

    Like

  3. Yeah, I kind of touched on this in my post too. Honestly, I think a lot of it is that humans just don’t want to believe that their actions could harm the world in any way. We all get in routines and no one wants to have to change theirs, so they just deny the fact that they might be causing harm to the Earth.
    -Jocelyn Scott

    Like

Leave a Reply

