Science and Faith

When I hear “Science and Faith” I immediately think of the big boom theory.  Why? Many of Cincinnati’s people grew up in Catholic or Christian schools.  When growing up we were taught the story of adam and eve and how God created the world in 6 days.  This is what we have been taught our entire lives, then we go to science class and learn about the big bang theory.  I know this was confusing to me as a child because I was being told two different things, I wasn’t sure what to believe and I am sure many others are in the same situation.  There are facts that scientists have backed this theory with, but since 1st grade we were told God made the earth in 6 days. I feel like this relates to last week learning about global warming.  Science has backed that global warming is an actual thing, just like how it has backed the big bang theory.  I think some people are confused as to what they should believe.  The environment around them plays a major role.  When it came to what I should believe growing up I often went with faith, because I didn’t understand how the big bang theory was a thing.  I constantly questioned where that even came from.  People always compare the two and think they are against each other.  Here is a good article showing how the two can be compatible.

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2015/03/150319-three-questions-francis-collins-nih-science/

It turns out most people live somewhat in the middle of the two.  They believe in the big bang theory, but think that faith played a role before this.  There are some answers that can be answered by science as well as others that cannot.  For example “Why is there something instead of nothing? Why are we here?” These are all intriguing questions that we may never get to the bottom of.  faith_vs_fact_toppick_crop

4 thoughts on “Science and Faith

  1. Topics like this are interesting because while some people believe that science and religion (and/or spirituality) are completely separate, others believe they go hand in hand. The Big Bang is a perfect example. How did our world and surrounding universe become what it is from one single “explosion”? God created the Earth in 6 days, but looking at the massive universe and the illusion of human time, what is 6 days to an infinite power such as God? Just food for thought 🙂

    -Mattie Martin

    Like

  2. I agree it is confusing for people to say the God created earth then you get to science class and they say the big bang happened. I completely agree that people are confused on what they should believe. I feel like the more people are educated they would have a better idea what to believe.

    Like

  3. I agree with you that it is confusing to come from a catholic grade school o high school and then come ino an environment where the big ban theory is taught. Great post!
    -Kellie Behrle

    Like

Leave a Reply

