Science vs. Religion

This past week we talked about science and it’s affect towards religion or vice versa. It really makes you think of what you’re going to say if you were to talk about this topic. I find myself pausing and thinking if what I’m about to say will offend or hurt anyone around me. It’s crazy to me that we live in such a sensitive world. I just want to talk a little bit on the Pastafarianism religion that we discussed in class. Because of how I was raised and the religion that I was brought up in (Christianity) it seems crazy to me that people would “worship” a flying spaghetti monster. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to say that they’re wrong for worshiping the flying spaghetti monster, I’m just saying it’s crazy for me to think of them worshiping something I wouldn’t ever worship myself. It was cool though to see other’s opinions about how they take religion and science and compare that to our original opinion. When I was in school, I don’t remember ever really talking about the difference or similarities between science and religion. I think lots of people avoided the topic of religion because so many people would get offended and would start a huge debate that we really didn’t mean to get into. But now that I look back at what high school was and how it revolved around religion. We might have talked a little about religion in a history class but we never talked about it in a science class. I hope that with the further we grow in our planet we can become more comfortable in what religion is and what other religions are. I think doing that would make the  world a more peaceful place. Instead of everyone thinking they’re individual opinion is right and try to care for others maybe it will make the world a more peaceful place.

Becca Roberts

3 thoughts on “Science vs. Religion

  1. I have to wholeheartedly agree that both science and religion have so much to benefit from working together to solve the world’s problems. I would love to see that happen, and I think we might start seeing that. The Pope, leader of the world’s largest religious entity, he has several degrees, including a Chemistry degree. He is very well-educated and the world can benefit from that!

    Like

  2. I also found it crazy that there are people out there “worshiping” a character made of spaghetti. I am not knocking anyone’s beliefs, nut also being raised as a Christian, it is astounding and interesting to me. Thanks for sharing!
    -Kellie Behrle

    Like

  3. It is amazing how high schools in particular shy away from the correaltion between science and religion in hopes of not offending any of the students or parents who might get word of it. I do think eventually religion will be able to be discussed freely and with no filter. There is no point in brushing it under the rug when it does exist. If conversations about these topics were avoided many of us would never even know what pastafarianism is.

    -Skylar Barkley

    Like

Leave a Reply

