Childhood & Nature

After reading chapter 1 in our 3 textbook, Communicating Nature, the section that interested me the most was “Childhood and Nature”.  My favorite place in the world growing up as a child was my family’s cottage on a lake in Northern Michigan.  We spent 3 months of the year there every summer, until I was almost 12 years old.  Even to this day there has not been a place that I have visited that has had a greater impact on my environmental ideology than that lake and the surrounding woodlands.  I can remember spending countless hours outside everyday, always finding new ways to enjoy the natural spaces around me.  We recently took the opportunity to revisit the cottage this past year, and I was blown away at how differently I viewed the area as a 23 year old, as compared to a 10 year old.  I imagine that since wee stopped visiting this place, I have spent my life in a suburban area, with plenty of human development, and then my college years in a urban area, and those experiences have led me to see the world in a different way.  When I realized this it was not an easy pill to swallow, it was one of the first times that I saw my innocence evaporate in front of my eyes.  But with that painful realization, came a passion to get back to those days when my views of the natural world around me were just as important, if not more important to me than my interactions with the human aspect of my existence.  I certainly have learned to not take for granted what we have experienced as a child., and not to necessarily ignore what we discovered as adults, but to always remember to keep in mind how important our childhood interactions with nature were to us.

Cullan McCarthy

4 thoughts on “Childhood & Nature

  1. Life is what you make of it. Since your childhood you changed and Michigan changed. Memories remain in our hearts. It’s always good to go back, it its more important to look forward with your past as a strong foundation.

    Mike Cappel

    Like

  2. I agree! Thanks for telling your story about Michigan. I also agree with Mike. What I think is important is that we still cherish our childhood memories of nature, but also try to create new memories with our surrounding environment. Childhood memories can shape how you view the natural world, but I also think that you should focus on what beauty surrounds you in the present.

    Gabriella Feltman

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed reading your post! The environment around us has changed so much over time. Ya I agree with Gabriella, sometimes we just have to learn to appreciate the beauty of the present, but sometimes it’s really hard to do that. It’s those memories that help us re-experience what we love.
    A M Ovini Amarasinghe

    Like

  4. I love Northern Michigan, and have many fond memories there as well! It’s a special place, and I hope time does not disrupt your memories too much…
    -Jordan Wilcox

    Like

Leave a Reply

