Copper Mountain

In class we meditated and relived our most memorable moment with nature. Immediately, I recalled when I went snowboarding in the back bowls of Copper Mountain, Colorado. I went to Colorado with my family for a Christmas vacation when I was in 8th grade, and it was the first time I had snowboarded an actual mountain since I grew up in Canton, Ohio. It is my favorite vacation I have ever been on and I will never forget how I felt overlooking the Rocky Mountains.

Midway through my vacation I started to become bored of the terrain parks and the trails made for me. I wanted to get a backcountry experience because I knew I may not get this opportunity again for a really long time. One morning I woke up to six inches of fresh snow and I knew that that was the day that I would attempt Copper Mountain’s back bowl. I took several chair lifts and tow ropes up the mountain until they stopped providing ways to transport me higher. From there, I hiked another 30 minutes up the mountain. As exhausting as that hike was it was one of the best decisions of my life. I had never seen a more beautiful landscape looking out the backside of the mountain. I was completely alone, standing above everyone else on the mountain behind me, and higher up than the peaks surrounding Copper. I could see for miles off in the distance without a single human being or man made object in sight. Looking down, no one else had done this run that morning. After admiring the view for a couple of minutes, I decided it was finally time to make my run. To this day, it was the greatest and most challenging runs I have ever been on. One day I hope to return to Colorado and do the same run. However, I doubt I will be able to replicate my emotional attachment with nature I made that day.

copperbowl

Andrew Traicoff

One thought on “Copper Mountain

  1. It was surprise to me that mountain surrounding Copper. I wanna go there someday when I am free from the school.

    Like

Leave a Reply

