Tiny House Hunters

house

When talking about minimizing and consumption in class i straight away thought about the show Tiny House Hunters. On HGTV they said this about the show; “Follow home seekers across the country as they look to downsize, way down. They’ll check out three unique streamlined houses under 600 square feet before deciding on the perfect compact kingdom to call home. When it comes to choosing one and making an offer, will they join the tiny house movement or stick with wide-open spaces? Viewers will be on the edge of their seats waiting to see what these Tiny House Hunters ultimately decide”. Some people on this show on top of getting an entire house in under 600 square feet, they will go off the grid and get a compost toilet and have no internet. A composting toilet is a type of dry toilet that uses a predominantly aerobic processing system to treat human business, by composting or managed aerobic decomposition. These toilets generally use little to no water and may be used as an alternative to flush toilets. This sounds like a complete horror story to me. I could never do what these people do. If you google some tiny homes you can see really nice ones that do not look like they are only 600 square feet but I still couldn’t. The composting toilet sounds disgusting too. I think it would be great for the environment, but I don’t know if I could do that either. If it was life or death I could probably live in a tiny home but I like space. Think to yourself, do you think you could live in a tiny house? A house under 600 square feet? Its really cheap to live in a house that small but you sacrifice so much to move to a tiny space. Is it worth it?

Cindy Garner

house1

6 thoughts on “Tiny House Hunters

  1. I think given the amount of resources that exist and the current population, this may actually be the smartest way for people to live. But goo luck convincing people to sell their Mcmansions to live more of a minimalist lifestyle. This post brings up several of these interesting points. Good post!

    -Drew Sliger

    Like

  2. I think these are adorable and good for a short periods of time but I think most people would be unable to live in there.Its so small and if you live with other people you could never escape them. I think the best way to minimize is to start within our regular homes.

    Like

  3. I’ve been a huge fan of tiny homes for years. I feel that they represent the collective move to a more simplistic lifestyle. I watched a wonderful documentary on netflix (it’s appropriately called TINY) about a couple that spends a year building their tiny home so they can hitch it to the back of their truck and tow it off to the land they bought. For me, this is a really great idea for young people without children or older people who are living out the rest of their lives. Even with a composting toilet, I would definitely consider this option.
    Kaylin Brodzki

    Like

  4. I have never seen that show before! I have seen house hunters where potential home buyers are looking for a desired space in their desired budget, which are typically grand and expensive or modern and intricate homes. I don’t think I could live in a tiny home. I agree with you, I enjoy space too much, I would feel to cluttered living in a home that was so small.
    -Skylar Barkley

    Like

  5. I have always been a fan of the so-called, “Tiny Homes”. You hear stories of people who have hollowed out shipping crates and live in them. I think it’s a great idea who have most of the amenities that people are accustomed to, while not living at such a lavish level. I respect people who choose to live in these small homes because it certainly isn’t easy, but economical.

    Mike Montague

    Like

Leave a Reply

