A reflection

When I signed up for this course, I wasn’t totally sure what to expect. When I first learned that we would have a 300-500 word blog due nearly every week in this class, I groaned internally. And we had to comment on three other blogs? Insert “ain’t nobody got time for that” meme here. However, I gradually learned these blogs weren’t so bad, and I ended up actually enjoying the blogging process. These blogs showed that we could learn a lot in this class not only from the course instructor, but also from each other. The blogs were a way to really reflect on class material and connect it to our own lives.

I genuinely enjoyed this class. I learned a lot from each section. The health section brought to light the ways that we consider ourselves “normal” and the cosme-nutri-pharmaceutical industries that profit from our health. As an environmental studies major/biology minor, the science and environment sections were most intriguing for me. It was really surprising to learn how scientifically illiterate many Americans are and how little coverage science gets in the media. Communicating Nature was especially eye-opening for me, unveiling the way consumerism and materialism is ingrained in our lives and the toll it takes on the environment. It is something so embedded in our culture that we don’t even realize the way advertising manipulates us and plays on our emotions and social desires. Because of this class I’ve decided to buy less and be more mindful when I find myself in a “buyosphere” situation.  I’ve also learned to be more wary of the “green” products I do buy, and to do my research. I would say that I took away the most information from the environment lectures of this class and everyone’s blog posts in this section. 

Overall, I was never bored in this class. The class discussions were always thought-provoking and oftentimes humorous. There was always a good balance of opposing viewpoints on each topic, which makes for good discourse. To be honest, this might be the most engaging and captivating course I have taken so far. Thanks to Dr. Sastry and the rest of you for a great class. 

62722787

Katie Clontz

One thought on “A reflection

  1. We all probably learned a lot from each other. Sometimes about class material, but just as much about how to interact with each other on sometimes controversial topics. Dr. Sastry was always there to step in when things got out of hand.

    Mike Cappel

    Like

Leave a Reply

