Its been real

I went into this class thinking I wasn’t going to enjoy it at all. It seemed like a boring topic to me but I need to take one COMM elective so I chose this one. I was very surprised by how much I enjoyed the class and how much I learned. Before this class, I realized I was ignorant to things going on. I thought everyone trusted their doctor’s, I thought most people believed in global warming and I never though of Suburb’s as unnatural.

After this class I’m going to go through life more observant and cautious. Step-by-step I’m going to take the little steps to help the planet such as recycle when I can, not use plastic bottles, perhaps grow some of my own vegetables and even try going vegetarian for awhile.

Also, this class has opened my eyes to what I really want to do with my life. I discovered I want to go into the Health Communication field and I’m actually excited about it. I’m not sure exactly what I want to do but I know I want to work for a hospital or maybe be a health advocate for the government.

I was mostly surprised by health and water conditions around the world. I knew a lot of the world didn’t have fresh water or access to good medical care, but i never knew how bad it was. The most shocking thing we watched/discussed in class was the Bhopal incident. The fact that decades after a massive chemical still is having birth defects on the population devastates me.

Because of this class I have become a lot more cautious to my environment and towards the world. Everything we do impacts something in someway. If all together if we do the little things like not use plastic bottles, recycle, walk or take the bus as much as we can, bring a reusable cup to starbucks, plant more trees, donate some money to preservation funds, we can make this world a better place and perhaps slowly start to reverse the damage we have done. Sure it’ll be hard, but if we all come together and really put our minds to it and are willing to put in the effort, I’m sure little by little we can start to make a change that will make the world a better, healthier place for future generations to come. Isn’t it worth a shot?

 

Leave a Reply

