Wrap Up

I would have to say that this class was easily one of the most interesting ones that I have taken at UC. When I signed up for the class at the beginning of the semester I figured I would learn a lot and I was right. When we talked about the health portion of the class I had no idea that the health industry was so money driven and false advertising definitely lives and breathes in that industry. If a product claims that it is all natural, how do you really know that it is “all natural.” Growing up my parents always bought organic food and probably went to Whole Foods everyday it seemed like. However, this class made me more aware that places like Whole Foods might just be trying to paint a picture that there is nothing wrong with them and they may not be telling the truth all the time. Recently, I just saw an article about where Whole Foods gets their turkeys. To me it did not sound very far off from the major corporations like Tyson or Monsanto.

From the Environment, my favorite exercise was when we as a class closed our eyes and thought about our favorite moments in nature. This took me back to when I went cage diving a couple years ago off of the coast of San Francisco. This was easily the most amazing but equally insane experience I have ever had. When I was underwater in the cage my body just went numb when I saw the two Great White sharks swim up to the cage. The feeling afterward of total euphoria is something that I will have for the rest of my life.

From the science standpoint, I thought it was pretty incredible how far the U.S. has fallen in education. I knew we had definitely fallen in the rankings but had no idea it had gotten this bad.

Overall, I would recommend this course to anyone who needs a wake up call about the world around them.

 

Leave a Reply

