Bridging the Gap

The Journey to health education has been a long yet fulfilling peg in my ladder to success. During my senior year in high school was sure was going to become a psychiatrist in some far off city with my happy husband and three well-mannered children. Sure I’ve made it sound like a fantasy now but you couldn’t tell a seventeen-year-old Moriah that it wasn’t going to happen; in many aspects, she had the right idea. She understood that there were many other people like herself who had been secluded under a glass ceiling, unaware that certain levels of health and wealth were within their threshold. She wanted to help people learn enough about themselves to want a better. Over time that has evolved from wanting to make a lot of money counseling people enough to write a prescription, to supporting my new baby and helping to renew humanity in all people as a social worker, to wanting to promote health and wellness in those that need it most, regardless of how much money I make.

Although I understand the importance of understanding and maintaining one’s health, I believe I am the perfect candidate to sere as a bridge between traditionally unhealthy populations because I too am weary of the intentions of our country’s current healthcare system. The historical monstrosities and personal experiences of people like myself have fuel a level of mistrust in the providers “in charge”of health management. This is problematic because any allow their mistrust of healthcare professionals to distance themselves from the medical system, but the idea of being healthy as well.

One concept reviewed during the first two weeks of class that really hit home for me was the idea of normalizing poor health. As stated n the text, “We develop habits based on what our family does… the diet we eat, our views of nutrition, our beliefs about illness causation, about sexuality…”. It is difficult for particular populations to achieve “normal” health because not only are they unaware of the standard quantitative measure of good health, but we compare our own health to the narratives shared within those that exhibit many of the same health behaviors as ourselves. This concepts reminds me of my reluctance to immunize my child because I was raised to believe they are unnecessary. To me, signing a waiver at every check-up is normal. Before  began to do my own research, I was more aware of the number of healthy unvaccinated children than the number of children whose lives could have been preserved had they received immunizations. I had also heard more stories about the perceived detrimental effects of these injections than my grandparents did when their peers were saved by the polio vaccine.

One thought on “Bridging the Gap

  1. I was not immunized as a child and this has been a life long struggle on determining aspects of my health what is right and wrong, and while I can very clearly see where you are coming from as a parent and don’t disagree with you I wish growing up I had been giving more education on the pros and cons of health as I had simply been told “vaccines are bad. Modern medicine is bad”. Now as an adult I don’t know how to find a doctor, I don’t know which medications are bad and good and have to rely on the help of my friends because I am too scared to ask my parents. Not saying you would do this, but your blog post brought up my strong emotions toward the matter.

    ~Asha Brogan

    Like

Leave a Reply

