Heroin in Cincinnati

heroin-pic            Heroin is never something I never really thought would ever affect anyone I know or myself. Especially living in a city drugs are always around somewhere. It comes with the music scenes and the party life, between college parties and music festivals I have seen a fair share of drugs floating around. There is your typical weed smokers, kids tripping on acid having a good time. Where is it crossing the line though? Are these things really gateways to something much worse? I have seen people that I know and love progress from these simple, what seem to be harmless, tasks to ruining there whole life. I had a family friend die of heroin overdose not too long ago. A husband and a father who selfishly gave up caring for his next high. Should people feel bad because he needed help, or should they be angry he couldn’t get it together? Another person I am close friends with I recently found out was doing heroin. It was a classic case of she started out doing your typical party drugs to chasing an even better high. This led her to trying heroin and changing her whole life. In and out of rehab moving from Nashville to L.A.,  calling late at night needing a hotel room and lying to her parents so she can continue to use.

In recent months heroin has swept through this city and become what they are calling an epidemic. I read an article that over 200 people have overdosed in Cincinnati in just that last two weeks. Its a scary thought, that could be somebody you know. There are saying heroin is being cut with opiates such as fentanyl and more recently carfentanil, which is used in tranquilizing  large animals such as elephants. The rate of overdose deaths have doubled over the last year, and detox centers can’t keep up with that amount of people that need help. Medical personal are having to use double sometimes triple the amount of Narcan, the drug used to stop an overdose, when treating patients and they are seeing much more deaths. Hopefully something can be done to stop this madness and get people to stop killing themselves with this harmful dug.

4 thoughts on “Heroin in Cincinnati

  1. I completely agree with how you feel because it is highly disturbing seeing how many lives drugs (heroin) can affect. I mean there is constantly a report on an overdose on the highway or a body found in the park. I couldn’t understand the addiction, but I do know that with the voices of strong minded individuals that these issues could be decreased. I also have a family friend who just checked into rehab, which I was entirely shocked of the situation. I knew he was on pain killers, but heroin shocked me I believe because of the name itself. Anyways I have reached out this individual letting him know if he needs someone to talk to i’m here to help. Now this guy has been clean for a month, but I reminded his close friends to check on him daily, whether it’s a simple text or phone call. Simple acts like this could save a life or two. I suggest you to do the same with friends and family (As I assume you would).

    Like

  2. This is an interesting topic. Since moving here I have heard much about the heroin epidemic. I would have loved to see an attachment for that article. Before living in the Cincinnati area, I would faintly hear about tragic climbs on my local news in Texas about the Tri-State area. Truthfully, I didn’t really know where that was. I have two friends in Austin that both moved from other states to seek treatment there, due to the inundation of their local rehabilitation centers. One always hopes that their loved one will eventually get help before its too late, but what happen to that hope when there is nowhere for them to go. Thanks for the good read.

    Allison Johnson

    Like

  3. I spent labor day weekend up in Mansfield, OH and they are having quite a heroin epidemic up there. It just blows my mind that problems like these aren’t only rampent in low income urban areas, but throughout our nation. It’s truly horrific the damage being caused by hard drugs. It touches everyones life in one way or another. It’s an extremely complex problem, and I honestly believe there isn’t a straight forward solution. We are going to need unity and understanding to fight something like this and I think that starts with reducing the punishment of using drugs like these. An extreme punishment is only going to punish those who come forward and are seeking help or a way out. Additionally, those extreme punishments are not having a corrilary impact on incarcerations (meaning we effectively aren’t reducing the drug problem, only increasing the prison population problem).
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDVmldTurqk – this video talks a bit about that correlation
    Anyway, I strongly agree it is a problem sweeping our nation, and has been for some time. Rehabilitation, giving people hope and a way out of the entrapment of addiction, seems like our best shot; not doubling down on law enforcement and skewering those who come forward seeking a second chance at life.

    Like

  4. I know people who have overdosed on this terrible drug. It’s really sad if you ask me. There are efforts to prevent the use of this drug, but ultimately people are going to do what they want to do. I think that we need to make an effort to prevent people from ever using the drug in the first place. Once people try it, they get hooked. That’s the reality of it. Then they abuse it and either die or tear their bodies apart. Great post. I think people need to recognize this problem a bit more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

