Can Strong Faith alter your thinking ability?

In class we previously had a debate Science Vs. Faith. Prior to this class discussion I automatically assumed this conversation would turn hostile because this is a very sensitive subject for must individuals. My religious background is interesting, not because of myself, but my whole family. I was raised as a Christian, but only half of my family is Christian and the other half is Muslim (I am half Iranian). I kept quite for this discussion due to the high amount of bias I would have messaged. I do believe in science, but I have enormous faith and didn’t want to offend anyone. I consider myself a man of faith, but I contradict myself because I believe how an individual could disagree with me. Although, everyone seemed to be opened minded and the class discussion went pretty well without any extra argumentation. However, this discussion left me with questions on why younger generation’s are less focused on religion than prior generations and how a strong religious background can alter thinking ability?

In recent years people have exercised their freedom of speech by speaking out against more than in past decades. One of the main arguments people have spoken out upon is whether or not God was real or in other words people have become atheist openly. This reminds me of the hypodermic needle model also known as “the magic bullet”. This model focuses on the notion that the media can magically inject thought and ideas into people’s minds. In the past generations everyone was taught and raised from their parents, schools, and public manipulation.

A recent study in Applied Cognitive Psychology shows a connection with belief in the supernatural (religious beliefs) with poor reasoning skills, tend to have low information about basic physics and biology, and a mentality to magical thinking. This study shows:

The results showed that supernatural beliefs correlated with all variables that were included, namely, with low systemizing, poor intuitive physics skills, poor mechanical ability, poor mental rotation, low school grades in mathematics and physics, poor common knowledge about physical and biological phenomena, intuitive and analytical thinking styles, and in particular, with assigning mentality to non-mental phenomena.

I am not saying I agree with this study, but I do agree that those who base everything on religious beliefs tend to have closed minded views about the natural world. As we continue to grow into our future we see less of religious views and see more scientific views. When most of our parents went to school they spoke upon God in public schools, now any religion is looked down upon in schools. For example, they don’t even say the Pledge Allegiance at school anymore. I remember when I was in high school you didn’t have to stand up for the pledge. My mom had a fit when I told her this saying, “Kids got beaten if that happen when I was in school.” So times are changing and as we develop more as a country into a technology driven world, we continue to see the trend of less religion.

 

Source:

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/progressivesecularhumanist/2016/10/study-links-religious-belief-to-poor-understanding-of-physical-world/

 

Ali Danesh

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Can Strong Faith alter your thinking ability?

  1. I really found your post to be interesting. I’m not so religious myself but I do know that science has a way to keep faith alive. I think that there aren’t many people who know the right way to articulate the ways in which science does support the possibility of religion. Consider those who believe in string theory and how they believe they are binary computer program codes embedded in our realities fabric. Or the fact that we now have a deeper understanding that anyone who created this place was not from this place and therefore has a different definition of what 7 days truly is anyway but without science to explain the way a day is defined according to a planet we could have missed this entirely. So overall there is a place of intersection between the two but just not many people to explain them in relation to one another in a clear way to others i feel.
    -Tymandra Amburgy-

    Like

  2. Science and faith are incredibly touchy topics because both can be skewed to someones favors or be skewed negatively. There are stats that exist that show that people who are highly religious are less likely to be open to new ideas in general. So it wouldn’t be out of the question that being incredibily religious is the best idea. But then again, we live in an era where we can all agree that both are beneficial to society as long as its in moderation.

    Like

  3. I really like your post! I’ve been thinking a lot about the subject since our class discussion. I think a lot of it has to do with the two very different ways both systems exist. Science is based on an ever-evolving concept of understanding whereas religion is something that is well, pretty much written in stone and hasn’t really changed much in hundreds of years for the most part.

    Victoria Obermeyer

    Like

Leave a Reply

