Our childhood experience manifests into adult decisions

There was a lot of deep and meaningful topics covered over the past two weeks, it was hard for me to pick something to talk about as so much could be said on just one ideology but for this blog Id like to focus on childhood experiences with nature; I believe this is a major building block when looking at the bigger picture of how our ideologies and beliefs develop.

When the professor mentioned his background with nature and the environment he grew up in I really started to realize what kind of an impact that could have on the rest of someone’s life decisions. And it started to become more apparent when others shared some of their experiences as well. It’s amazing to think how much power there is behind something as simple as going to the zoo and what it teaches our subconscious at such a young age. It’s hard for me to grasp the fact that some people still deny global warming or are just ignorant about current world affairs/problems. With this said though I know now that much of their ignorance and/or lack of understanding could have come from missing out on something most people think is normal or “simplistic” such as playing in the woods as a kid or just being around true organic nature. I say this because when I take time to recapitulate past memories with nature and then look at other peoples experiences with nature, it seems to me that their rationalization for something correlates with how much personally they’ve been around nature. For example someone who appreciates nature for what it really is has usually had hands on experience, but someone who has not doesn’t understand everything that nature has to offer and with this comes along agreements and disagreements of what should be done to protect the Earth that we live on.

From friends anecdotes to my personal experience I’ve come to see all the benefits of just taking time to walk in organic nature and I can start to sympathize for Native Americans who believe we are truly one with nature. Our mind tends to disassociate with matters that we don’t understand because we have not experienced something to indicate that it’s actually “real”. I used to look at meditating as weird or Native Americans as weird for practicing the things they do but as I started to experiment and try meditation for myself it didn’t seem so weird after all. I guess something to take out of all this is don’t knock it till you try it. Also if more people started to get hands on experience I believe more and more action can be initiated, so that we start seeing true change in the way we currently operate when it comes to environmental protection.

– Jaiden Deal

3 thoughts on “Our childhood experience manifests into adult decisions

  1. I also remember feeling very connected to wilderness as well and so I too found that topic to be very interesting in lecture too. Thanks for making this post as it really interest me. I was always outside and barefoot a lot as a kid and so I feel a sense of emotional tie to the land because its all good memories for me. I feel being outside at a young age is an important thing for people to take part in. Living in the concrete jungle we do today I can see how easy it is to have people who don’t have that bond with the environment the rest of us do and so it increasingly important to encourage those experiences whenever we can. Great post overall.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently read a paper about epigenetics recently, the core principle being events in your life can change the expression of certain genes in your DNA. While this in and of itself is interesting, more recent studies suggest it could even be a step further than that. They show people who undergo trauma can have their DNA sequence altered and even pass it along to their children. It’s not exactly what you’re talking about in this article, but what you’re saying is backed up by science and decades of research. It’s pretty crazy to think your childhood not only affects your decisions as an adult.. but can affect your child’s decisions as an adult.

    Dylan Nourse
    https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/249952 <- Trauma leads to DNA change

    Like

Leave a Reply

