Why MOST shampoos suck

Since I was really little I’ve had trouble finding products that don’t irritate my skin.  This has gotten harder and harder over the years because there are so many products that promise “natural” ingredients.  Another downside to sensitive skin is just because a product is “natural” doesn’t mean it won’t irritate your skin.  There are plenty of things in nature that are not necessarily good for you or can have drying/irritating effects on your skin.

Obviously, the demand for these products have grown over the years and so many companies are trying to push this whole “green” aesthetic.  One example is Herbal Essence, which although seems to make your hair soft and silky is actually doing a lot of damage to your hair in the long run.  I know it’s nice to come out of the shower smelling like a tropical breeze but a lot of times those perfumes can really dry out your hair and scalp in the long run.

Additionally these bottles are non-reusable and contribute further to the plastic crisis.  One way to avoid these issues is to look at the back of your bottle.  Do your research on the brand before you start buying.  See if their products are made in a more sustainable way than other companies.  Use bars instead of bottles of shampoo and conditioner.  If that’s not something you’re interested in trying there are some companies even allow you to send back your bottle to be refilled.  A brand I highly recommend is Dr.Bronners, you can get your bottles refilled, its ingredients are clearly listed and explained on the website, and its non-irritating even for me!

 

Victoria Obermeyer

 

3 thoughts on “Why MOST shampoos suck

  1. Thanks for sharing! I too have had issues with it however have not done my research like you have to find anything better like Dr. Bronners like you mentioned. That’s very interesting they will refill your bottle. It’s nice to see some companies that really are trying to make an impact.

    Kelly Woodward

    Like

  2. This was very informative. I do not have allergies or irritations from using certain shampoos, but my hair does get very greasy very fast. But with this commercial its nice to see companies changing their old ways to become more green.

    Like

  3. I love Dr. Bronners products too, but I didn’t realize you could get them refilled! That is awesome. I will also have to look into shampoo bars… I didn’t realize that was a thing either. I always feel very guilty about all of the bottles toiletries use and I have switched over to bar soap. I will definitely try out bar shampoo, too. Thanks for the info!

    Chelsea Walters

    Like

Leave a Reply

