Unspoken of Hygiene

by Asha Brogan

Take a deep breath because I want to talk about THAT topic which you don’t talk about. Specifically… periods. Now before you run away I promise this is not a feminist rant or gross detailing of personal bodily fluids but a serious environmental concern.  There are seem products in our lives we know are bad for the environment and use anyway: toilet paper, tissues, paper napkins, and of course pads and tampons. According to slate.com the average woman throws away 250-300 pounds of plastic and paper period related products in her lifetime, but thats only about 0.5 percent of the total garbage contributions each person makes in their lifetime, so maybe its not an issue for the environmentally concerned.

What I find interesting is periods are such an unspoken of topic that “eco-friendly” products don’t seem to have the sheer volume of commercials that many do, surprising since there are viable options. The issue is gross factor, all the products involve getting far more involved with your body cycles then most woman are willing to do. The two most environmentally friendly products on the market are cloth pads and cups. Each collects that lovely red liquid, but instead of allowing you to throw it in the trash requires washing and cleaning.

While I don’t personally use either of these products I do believe they should be talked about more when it comes to personal steps in environmental change, .5% may not seem like a lot, but every little bit counts over the course of a lifetime.

Descriptions of products may be found here: http://lunapads.com/?geoip_country=US

 

4 thoughts on “Unspoken of Hygiene

  1. I think your main point is really important. Yes, 0.5% may not be that big of a deal personally, but if everyone would think about this issue there could be some real impact.
    I do find it challenging to find cups in stores, though. I have been looking for a while ever since I have become more conscious of my trash. The only place I have ever been able to find cups have been in this really zen “hippie-esque” town, Yellow Springs. They are very conscious and green there, and it is a small close-knit community.
    But I really don’t think many people would be willing to have to clean whatever they are using to dispose of their menstrual fluids. A lot of people would find it gross, while others would avoid it because of its inconvenience. I wish there was an easy way to show people the ramifications of their actions and get them to understand and want to change, but unfortunately it is not that easy.

    Annelise Wilimitis

    Like

    • I appreciate and love your mention of Yellow Springs here, I am actually from YS myself. From what I have read the best source is to buy cups online, but target carries them now as well as several drug stores.

      Like

  2. Last week or last blog post I wrote about the exact same thing, and it really opened my eyes. O.B. tampons have made a new style of tampons without the plastic applicator. It will help our environment, but it is just changing or re-wiring the female brain from being used to an applicator. (Sorry men for being so open)!!!

    Like

  3. Yes, I have most recently seen the new “Diva Cups” that are available in all drug stores and grocery stores, I read up on some reviews and noticed that they are great just take some adjustments to getting used to. So feminine products are in the steps toward being environmental friendly that just isn;t much media coverage that is pushing these products like I literally just stumbled upon these products.

    Shayla Ford

    Like

Leave a Reply

