That’s all Folks

Image result for the end

Throughout the class this semester we have learned about a lot of interesting topics in the field of communication. When I signed up for this class, I signed up for it as and environmental studies elective, not realizing that it was also a communications course. The first day of class when we were going over the syllabus and the class, in general, I was worried that I wasn’t going to like the class at all. Luckily I was wrong about that because once we started getting into the material, the class became very interesting.

The overall structure of the class was really nice, including the blogs. I felt like it help me understand the material more because I was able to reflect on what we talked about each week and dove in a little further on the topics that were interesting to me. All three modules throughout the course made nice transitions into each other I felt. I wish the science section was a little bit longer though because I thought it was the most interesting, but that may just be because I’m a biology major. I also feel like this course will be helpful throughout my career and my life too. We talked about how these different topics are communicated and how that influences the way people view certain issues. This can be applied to anything that we talk about in the real world, not just health, science and the environment. With climate change being such a big issue, I think that will become a very big topic in the near future and will be important to know how to talk about it. As well as just communication about science in general, which we learned is not getting across to the public very well these days.

From starting the semester a little bit hesitant about this class, I’m really glad that it ended up being enjoyable and interesting for me. I’ve learned a lot of interesting things that I’ve also integrated into some of my other classes, mainly the environmental classes, which is great. I didn’t even skip a single class for the course, which I can’t say for all of my other classes.

Jacob Fischer

One thought on “That’s all Folks

  1. I felt the same way at the beginning of the semester. I wasn’t really sure that i was going to enjoy the class either. But it turned out to be one of my favorite classes! It really challenged me to think about the issues we face in a different way and to think more deeply about them. To try and think of solutions to them, instead of just learning about what the problem is and then just accepting that it is a problem. I also like to think that i can use the critical thinking that i used in this class the rest of my life!

    -Tom walters

    Like

Leave a comment